Buyer's guide · updated 15 October 2026
The best AI course for UK finance teams
Short answer: choose ICAEW or ACCA if accredited CPD from your own institute matters most. Choose AI for Finance Leaders (our course, £99 per person) if you want hands-on practice on close and FP&A work at the lowest cost. Use the free Anthropic and OpenAI courses to learn the tools, not the finance.
One of these courses is ours, and we say so wherever it appears. Prices and details are taken from each provider's own page on 15 October 2026. Where a detail is not published, we say “not stated” rather than guess.
At a glance
| Provider | Price | Finance-specific | Real close tasks | Review steps | CPD | Free preview |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI for Finance Leaders Prime AI Solutions (ours) | £99 per person, one-off | Yes, written for finance teams | Yes. The Record-to-Report lesson covers reconciliations, journals, accruals and close commentary | Yes. A human review step in the worked examples, plus lessons on model risk and governance | 15 to 20 CPD-aligned hours, certificate of completion. Not accredited by a professional body | Yes. The introduction and Module 1 (6 lessons) |
| ICAEW GenAI Accelerator (8 e-learning courses); Generative AI for Accountants (live) | Accelerator: price on ICAEW's site, with a member discount. Live virtual course: £425 + VAT members, £625 + VAT non-members | Yes, written for chartered accountants | Not stated. Courses cover financial operations, corporate reporting and tax compliance | Not stated | CPD badge per course; counts towards ICAEW CPD | Not stated |
| ACCA Certificate in AI for Finance Professionals | £230 members, £310 non-members | Yes | Not stated on the course page | Not stated on the course page | 15 CPD units; 12 to 15 hours, 12 months' access | Not stated |
| CIMA and AICPA AI Accelerator Skills Program | Not published; bundle or individual courses | Yes, finance and accounting | Not stated | Governance and ethics in the strategic tier | Up to 42 CPE credits (NASBA) and a certificate of completion | Not stated |
| Anthropic Academy and OpenAI Academy Free vendor training | Free | No. General AI skills for any job | No | Anthropic's AI Fluency covers judging AI output; OpenAI uses assessments for badges | Certificates or badges of completion, not CPD | Free in full |
| LinkedIn Learning Subscription library | Monthly or annual subscription | Some finance titles in a general library | Varies by course | Varies by course | Certificates of completion; check with your body | Varies; check LinkedIn for current offers |
| Coursera University and partner courses | Many courses free to audit; Coursera Plus subscription for certificates | Some, such as University of Maryland's AI Applications in Accounting and Finance | Varies by course | Varies by course | Certificates rarely count as CPD without checking | Audit mode on many courses |
“Real close tasks” means the course works through month-end tasks such as reconciliations, journals and commentary. “Review steps” means it teaches where a person checks AI output before it is used.
How to choose
- Your institute's name matters most. ICAEW and ACCA programmes count towards their own CPD without argument and carry weight with employers.
- You want the team doing real work with AI this month. Pick a course that uses finance tasks, not generic examples, and builds in review steps. Ask for a free preview before you buy seats.
- You need everyone to understand the tools first. Start with the free Anthropic or OpenAI courses, then add finance-specific training.
- You want a library for wider learning. LinkedIn Learning or Coursera suit people who want many topics, at the cost of finance depth.
Our pick
AI for Finance Leaders, by Prime AI Solutions
Self-paced, 15 to 20 hours, built for UK finance teams who want to use AI on real work this month. This is our course, so judge it on the free modules.
£99, with the opening modules free
A one-off price per person. Read the introduction and Module 1 before you pay anything.
Real finance work, not generic examples
P2P, O2C, Record-to-Report and FP&A, including reconciliations, journals, accruals and close commentary.
Tailored to your role and tools
Tell us your finance process, AI tool and finance system, and the worked examples are re-framed for your day job.
Seven things you keep
An ROI calculator, process assessments, a prompt library, a tool scorecard, a governance framework, a 90-day pilot plan and a business case.
Written by a chartered accountant
Umar Din FCCA, with a finance background at EY, HSBC and Shell, and UK regulation written for finance.
A certificate for your CPD record
A certificate of completion covering 15 to 20 CPD-aligned learning hours.
What the seven modules cover
- Introduction (free).
- AI Foundations for Finance (free): what AI is, and prompting for finance tasks.
- AI Across Finance Processes: P2P, O2C, Record-to-Report and FP&A.
- Tools and Technology: ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot, Gemini and Perplexity for finance, AI in your ERP, AI agents, and the F.A.I.R. framework for choosing tools.
- Risk, Compliance and Control: UK AI regulation for finance, data privacy, model risk and bias, and governance.
- Leading AI Adoption: business case, pilot design, change management and scaling.
- Your 90-Day AI Implementation Plan: a week-by-week plan for a real pilot.
Where it falls short: it is not accredited by a professional body, there is no live trainer, and it is written for finance, so other teams will get less from it.
Common questions
What is the best AI course for a UK finance team?
It depends on what the team needs. If accredited CPD from your own institute matters most, choose ICAEW or ACCA. If you want hands-on practice on close and FP&A work at the lowest cost per person, AI for Finance Leaders (our course, £99) is built for that. The free Anthropic and OpenAI courses are good primers on the tools but are not finance training.
Do AI courses count towards ACCA, ICAEW or CIMA CPD?
Courses from your own institute count without argument. Most bodies run an output-based CPD scheme, so learning from other providers can usually count if it is relevant to your role and you can show what you learned, but check your own body's rules. AI for Finance Leaders gives a certificate of completion covering 15 to 20 CPD-aligned hours; it is not accredited by a professional body.
Are the free Anthropic and OpenAI courses enough for a finance team?
They are a good start for learning how the tools work, and they cost nothing. They are written for every profession, so they do not cover finance workflows such as reconciliations, journals or variance commentary, and they do not cover UK finance regulation. Most teams use them as a primer and add finance-specific training on top.
What should an AI course for finance cover?
Real finance tasks rather than generic examples; a review step wherever AI output feeds the ledger or a report; data protection when financial data goes into an AI tool; how to choose between tools; and a plan for putting it into practice. A free preview lets you judge the teaching before you commit the team.
How much does AI training for a finance team cost?
From free for vendor courses, to £99 per person for AI for Finance Leaders, £230 to £310 for ACCA's certificate, and £425 + VAT or more per person for ICAEW's live classroom courses, as at 15 October 2026. Subscription libraries such as LinkedIn Learning and Coursera Plus charge monthly or yearly instead.
. See also AI courses for finance leaders.