Buyer's guide · updated 15 October 2026
The best AI courses for finance leaders
Short answer: for a university name and senior peers, Imperial's six-week programme (£1,700). For a formal qualification, INPD's two-day CMI Level 7 award (from £1,500 + VAT). For getting your team using AI on finance work at the lowest cost, AI for Finance Leaders (our course, £99, opening modules free).
One of these courses is ours, and we say so wherever it appears. Details are taken from each provider's own page on 15 October 2026. Where a detail is not published, we say so rather than guess.
At a glance
| Course | Price | Format and time | Written for | What you produce | Credential | Free preview |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI for Finance Leaders Prime AI Solutions (ours) | £99, one-off | Self-paced online, 15 to 20 hours | Finance leaders, controllers, FP&A and finance teams | An ROI case, process assessments, a prompt library, a tool scorecard, a governance framework, a 90-day pilot plan and a business case | Certificate of completion, 15 to 20 CPD-aligned hours. Not accredited | Yes. The introduction and Module 1 |
| AI in Finance: Strategy, Applications and Impact Imperial College London | £1,700 | Online, 6 weeks, with weekly office hours | CFOs, finance directors, risk, lending, investment and FP&A leaders | Playbook assignments and case studies | Digital certificate on a pass; non-credit bearing | No; brochure on request |
| AI for Finance Leaders Programme In Professional Development (INPD) | From £1,500 + VAT | Virtual, 2 days (8 sessions) | Finance leaders building an AI strategy | A 3,000 to 4,000 word AI readiness strategy and a team strategy pitch | CMI Level 7 Award in Strategic Leadership of AI | No |
| AI Accelerator Skills Program AICPA & CIMA | Not published | Online bundle or individual courses, in three tiers | Accounting and finance professionals, from leaders to practitioners | Not stated | Up to 42 CPE credits (NASBA) and a certificate of completion | Not stated |
| AI for Finance Specialization Corporate Finance Institute (CFI) | Included in the annual subscription, from US$347.90 a year | Self-paced, about 14.5 hours of core courses | Analysts and finance professionals | Case study challenges (optional) | CFI certificate; CPE via NASBA (US) and Canadian CPA bodies | Free sign-up; course preview not stated |
How to choose
- You are leading a major AI transformation. An executive programme (Imperial or INPD) gives you live teaching, peers and a name your board will recognise.
- You need letters after your name. INPD's CMI Level 7 award is the only formal qualification in this list.
- You want the whole team moving, not just you. A self-paced course at a per-person price you can roll out is more practical than one executive seat.
- You sit at the analytical end of finance. CFI's specialisation pairs AI with financial analysis and Excel skills.
- You need US CPE credits. AICPA & CIMA and CFI award NASBA CPE.
Our pick
AI for Finance Leaders, by Prime AI Solutions
Self-paced, 15 to 20 hours, built for UK finance teams who want to use AI on real work this month. This is our course, so judge it on the free modules.
£99, with the opening modules free
A one-off price per person. Read the introduction and Module 1 before you pay anything.
Real finance work, not generic examples
P2P, O2C, Record-to-Report and FP&A, including reconciliations, journals, accruals and close commentary.
Tailored to your role and tools
Tell us your finance process, AI tool and finance system, and the worked examples are re-framed for your day job.
Seven things you keep
An ROI calculator, process assessments, a prompt library, a tool scorecard, a governance framework, a 90-day pilot plan and a business case.
Written by a chartered accountant
Umar Din FCCA, with a finance background at EY, HSBC and Shell, and UK regulation written for finance.
A certificate for your CPD record
A certificate of completion covering 15 to 20 CPD-aligned learning hours.
What the seven modules cover
- Introduction (free).
- AI Foundations for Finance (free): what AI is, and prompting for finance tasks.
- AI Across Finance Processes: P2P, O2C, Record-to-Report and FP&A.
- Tools and Technology: ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot, Gemini and Perplexity for finance, AI in your ERP, AI agents, and the F.A.I.R. framework for choosing tools.
- Risk, Compliance and Control: UK AI regulation for finance, data privacy, model risk and bias, and governance.
- Leading AI Adoption: business case, pilot design, change management and scaling.
- Your 90-Day AI Implementation Plan: a week-by-week plan for a real pilot.
Where it falls short: no live sessions or cohort, no university or professional-body accreditation, and no coverage of trading, lending or credit risk models, which the executive programmes go into.
Common questions
What is the best AI course for a CFO or finance director?
If you want a university name and a cohort of senior peers, Imperial's six-week AI in Finance programme (£1,700) is a strong choice. If you want a formal qualification, INPD's two-day programme leads to a CMI Level 7 award. If you want your team using AI on finance work quickly and cheaply, AI for Finance Leaders (our course, £99) is self-paced and you can read the opening modules free.
Do finance leaders need a technical AI course?
No. None of the courses here require coding. A finance leader needs to know where AI helps in their processes, how to choose tools, what the controls and regulation require, and how to run a pilot that proves value. Technical depth matters more for analysts building models.
Is an executive programme worth it over a self-paced course?
An executive programme gives you live teaching, peers and a recognised name, at £1,500 or more and a fixed timetable. A self-paced course is cheaper and fits around the close, but you need the discipline to finish it. Many leaders take a self-paced course themselves and roll it out to the team, then add an executive programme if they are leading a major transformation.
What does AI for Finance Leaders cover?
Seven modules: an introduction; AI foundations and prompting for finance; AI across P2P, O2C, Record-to-Report and FP&A; tools (ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot, Gemini and Perplexity for finance, AI in your ERP, AI agents and the F.A.I.R. framework); UK regulation, data privacy, model risk and governance; leading adoption (business case, pilot design, change management, scaling); and a 90-day implementation plan.
Will an AI course count towards my CPD?
Courses from your own institute count without argument. Most other learning can count if it is relevant to your role and you record what you learned, but check your body's rules. Some US programmes here award CPE credits through NASBA, which is a US scheme. AI for Finance Leaders gives a certificate covering 15 to 20 CPD-aligned hours and is not accredited by a professional body.
. See also the best AI course for UK finance teams.